Profiles of the Editorial Committee Members



L. M. Patnaik is a professor at the Department of Computer Science and Automation at the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore, India. His areas of interest are computer architecture, parallel and distributed computing, CAD for VLSI systems, soft computing, real-time systems and mobile computing. email: lalit@micro.iisc.ernet.in



T. N. Guru Row is a professor at the Solid State and Structural Chemistry Unit at IISc. His areas of interest are charge density, cryocrystallography, crystal engineering, drug design, powder diffraction, Rietveld method, structural chemistry and structure—activity relationships. email: ssctng@sscu.iisc. ernet.in



P. Venkataram is a professor at the Department of Electrical Communication Engineering at IISc and Professor-in-charge of the J. R. D. Tata Memorial Library. His research interests include protocol engineering, wireless networks, Al applications in network management, multimedia systems. email: pallapa @ece.iisc.ernet.in, pallapa@library.iisc.ernet.in



Thomas Chacko is an associate professor of English and Communication Skills at the Department of Management Studies, IISc. His teaching and research interests range over linguistics, English for advanced academic purposes, copyediting of technical texts, and oral presentation of technical information. email: teechacko@rediffmail.com, thomasc@mgmt.iisc.ernet.in



A. Chakrabarti is a professor at the Department of Mathematics at IISc. His areas of interest are integral transforms, integral equations, numerical analysis, mathematical theory of elasticity, scattering of electromagnetic waves, acoustic waves and surface water waves. email: alok@math.iisc. ernet.in



K. Gopakumar is an assistant professor with the Centre for Electronics Design Technology at IISc. His fields of interest are power converters, pulsewidth modulation (PWM) techniques and ac motor drives. email: kgopa@cedt.iisc. ernet.in



N. V. Joshi is an associate professor at the Centre for Ecological Sciences at IISc. His areas of interest are statistical analysis and mathematical model-ling of ecological systems, and evolutionary biology. email: nvjoshi@ces.iisc. ernet.in



K. P. J. Reddy is a professor with the Department of Aerospace Engineering at IISc. His areas of interest are lasers and their applications, gasdynamic and chemical lasers, hypersonics and high speed flows, computational fluid dynamics, high temperature chemical kinetics, photonics and bioelectronics. email: laser@aero.iisc.ernet.in



K. L. Sebastian is a professor at the Department of Inorganic and Physical Chemistry at IISc. His areas of interest are theoretical chemical dynamics, molecular scale devices, quantum chemical calculations, and statistical mechanics. email: kls@ipc.iisc.ernet.in



L. Umanand is a senior scientific officer at the Centre for Electronics Design Technology at IISc. His areas of interest are photovoltaic system design, switched mode power conversion, bondgraph modelling of power electronic systems, high performance control of induction motor and reliability modelling. He is also interested in designing electric and hybrid electric vehicles. email: lums@cedt.iisc.ernet.in